Finca-bound

9 Jul

Nothing new to report today, except for a radio silence tomorrow and Sunday as we travel to a friend of a friend’s finca with Tam, Jota, Suzanne, Carlos and Erica (and more?). A finca is essentially a rustic country house somewhere outside of the city. They often have pools, idyllic settings and are often weekends of boozing and excessive meat eating. I think our finca weekend will be a little less wild, but here’s to hoping!

I’m so looking forward to seeing the Rio Claro, which is a short hike from the finca, and just taking in the sights of the more rural areas. Though the city has been wonderful, I can see where someone might want to “get away from it all”. The cars, the exhaust, the congestion and the heat can be a bit much.

In other news, I’ve made if through my first day throwing toilet paper in the garbage can and not in the toilet. The plumbing in Colombia is not wide enough or strong enough to handle toilet paper. Thus, throwing paper away in the little garbage cans is a must. Pat me on the back, homies! Or high five me (I totally washed my hands, I promise).

2 Responses to “Finca-bound”

  1. Lea Anthony July 9, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Well have a fun fiesta at the finca! Send fotos from la fo sure!
    Regarding the toilet paper, another adjustment to living abroad somewhere.

    Mommy has a lovely new fashion statement. A black ankle to thigh brace for her broken patella. HA!

    xoxo to you both. 😉

  2. Brian Nichols July 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Hey guys, I’ve been reading and am psyched to come visit.

Leave a Reply

